In Need of an Ego Massage

Alright, this post is probably going to come off really lame and self-absorbed, but I don’t care. I’m annoyed.

In early 2008, right before I moved to DC actually, I was living in Pittsburgh and I started dating this guy, Law School, who lived in MD. We met at a house party, kept in touch, and eventually started dating long-distance. I would go visit him or he would come to Pittsburgh. Things were fine at first…he was nice and sweet and everything seemed to be going well. But after a couple months I realized that Law School was not someone I could seriously date. He was 25 years old, had been out of college for at least a year, and was applying to law schools. He lived at home with his parents, and had lived there all through college, and didn’t really have an idea of how the world worked. He didn’t even have a debit card. And he was 25. Failure to Launch. Seriously. But not as cute as Matthew McConaughey. Anyways, I had already been in the working world for a year at the time, and I was working as an Account Manager at a marketing firm. So, we were in different places in life. Plus, he was wayyyyy too slow in the bedroom department. I swear to God, in the 3 months we dated, all we did was make out a little bit. He told me that he hadn’t had sex in 3 years! And, I would always try to push for us to go further and he would say that he wanted to wait. It was weird.

Anyways, not willing to babysit someone as they figured out their life, I broke things off with him. We were only dating for a few months, so it’s not like it was that serious. We stayed friends, and would talk online from time to time – just to catch up on each other’s lives. After I moved down to DC, he even drove down from MD one day to have dinner. Eventually, he started law school in the fall, and we still kept in touch throughout his first semester. He knew that I was dating someone else, and he seemed fine with it. He also started dating someone else, and I wished him all the best. So, in my mind everything is totally cool between us.

Well, I would look at his facebook page from time to time – I admit, to look at his pictures and massage my ego a little bit. So I went to look at it recently, and to my complete & utter surprise, he had un-friended me! WTF? Who does that? Just put me on freaking limited profile. It was just so out of the blue and completely unwarranted.

I discussed this with my college buddy, Chicken Little, over Gchat:

CL: you are some sort of stalker
and like to keep tabs
to see if they are happier without you/miserable
so you can be satisfied for the day
Me: um, i would prefer the term “monitoring” instead of “stalking”

Let me explain. I think one of the best parts of being Facebook friends with an ex is that you can look at their pictures, massage your ego a little bit and think “yesss, i am sexy and so much better off.” You know all of you think this & do it…at least I admit it. But anyways, I’m super annoyed that he is taking this privilege away from me.

So, in retaliation, I will be sending him a text or facebook message on his birthday (this Sunday), where I will wish him a happy birthday and apologize for not being able to write on his wall since he un-friended me. I’ll probably throw in some other snide remarks too. I never said I was mature.

One Response to In Need of an Ego Massage

  1. […] School Update Remember Law School? My ex who un-friended me on facebook for no apparent reason? Well I have an update on that waste […]

Leave a comment