Ready to Throwdown at CVS

Let me preface this with the fact that I’m not a confrontational or violent person. I swear. But, there are some idiots out there in the world and a gal can only hold her composure for so long. This past Sunday was such a time.

Boyfriend & I had gone to dinner in Clarendon with friends of ours who recently got engaged. They wanted to go to this Irish pub called RiRa, so we made our way over there for dinner & drinks. (On a side note, Boyfriend decided that as this was his first time at an Irish eating establishment, he HAD to order something really “Irish-y,” and decided on a Shepherd’s Pie Boxty. He didn’t like it and ended up eating half of my food. I hate when he does that.) So anyways, dinner & drinks were fun. After we left RiRa, we popped into CVS quickly because I needed to pick up some essentials (aka a Hershey’s cookies & cream candy bar).

So Im standing in line at CVS and there is another couple in front of me. The boy was white and kind of goofy looking and the girl seemed to be middle eastern. (Another preface needed for this story: Boyfriend & I are both of Indian descent. We grew up in the US, but we both learned an Indian language while growing up. So, sometimes we speak in that language to each other. It comes in handy when you are trying to be secretive. Or just trying to talk shiz about someone.) Anyways, Boyfriend is walking around the front of CVS, touching EVERYTHING, and just acting like a 5 year old. His attention is captured by a display of sunglasses and he mosey’s on over to check them out. He ends up knocking some stuff over and just acting a fool (yes, I am dating a 27 year old in a 14 year old’s body…). So the couple in front of me are laughing at him and making unecessary comments like, “oh my good look at this idiot.” and “wow…what a retard.”

Okay. Yes, I realize he is a little spedtastic sometimes, but Boyfriend is my man and I’m going to defend his honor. So, I yell over to Boyfriend in our language, “[Boyfriend], come here.” So he comes over and stands with me all like what’s going on. And I say to him, again in our language, “Nothing, these fucking idiots in front of us have a problem with you, so just be easy.” And then the girl turns around, looks at me, and says the following:

“I understood everything you just said.”

fuuuuuuuuck.

But, I held my cool. I looked right back at her and said” Good for you…I still think you’re an idiot”

And then they left. Boyfriend was, of course, excited by the possibility of me “getting into a rumble at CVS” haha. But, no one was waiting, knife in hand, outside for us when we left the store.

But, yeah lesson learned: I have to be careful when speaking in our language. Indians are all over the place.

Leave a comment